Cupcakin’

So I started this blog as a way to journal my baking adventures. The good, the bad, and the spectacular, (because there will be nothing ugly on this blog!). And while I may focus on cupcakes for the first few posts, I intended to venture out into the wide world of desserts, and take you along with me. First stop: Cupcakes 😀

Lets start with two basic recipes. These are both vegan friendly, BTW.

First, lets start off with a basic vanilla cake.

Basic Vanilla Cupcake (Vegan)

2 ½ C. Plain Flour

2 C. Sugar

2 tsp. Baking Soda

½ tsp. Salt

2 C. Water

2/3 C. Vegetable Oil

½ tsp. Vanilla Extract

2 T. Vinegar

Cupcakes 003

This is the basic vanilla batter. It’s thinner than your average boxed cake batter, so don’t be concerned if it’s very runny. Say, orange juice consistency.

 

Mix dry ingredients. Mix wet ingredients. Combine and divide into muffin tins. Bake at 330° F for 20 minutes.

Now I get that 330 degrees sounds like a really weird temperature. The original recipe called for a 350 degree oven. I  have started always lowering the temp on my cupcakes after finding that they get done, but are still VERY moist. I’m also using a gas oven. Your oven temp may vary so you might want to experiment a little. You want a knife to come out clean when inserted in the middle.

Ta-Da!!!! The result! I baked this batch in the regular sized muffin tins. The recipe makes about 24 of this size or 12 of the large sized. You know, for when you're feeling invincible. ;)

Ta-Da!!!! The result! I baked this batch in the regular sized muffin tins. The recipe makes about 24 of this size or 12 of the large sized. You know, for when you’re feeling invincible. 😉

Next is a basic chocolate cake.

Basic Chocolate Cupcake (Vegan)

2 1/2 C. Plain Flour

1/4 C. Cocoa Powder (brand of your choice. I used Hershey’s)

2 C. Sugar

2 tsp. Baking Soda

1/2 tsp. Salt

2 C. Water

2/3 C. Vegetable Oil

1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

2 T. Vinegar

Same instructions for the basic vanilla cake.

Chocolate cupcakes. This right here makes this girl happy, happy, happy.

Chocolate cupcakes. This right here makes this girl happy, happy, happy.

Once you have the cakes baked I would suggest letting them cool before icing them, especially if you are going to be using a butter~cream type frosting. On the other hand if you are using a glaze, I would go ahead while they are warm so it covers well.

Cupcakes 006

So there it is! Two basic cupcake recipes. Next time I will talk about some easy variations on these.

Leave a Reply

